Skip to Main Content

Policies: Home

Library Policies

Borrowing privileges (SEU ID Required) are extended to the following four groups:

  • Students enrolled for the current semester
  • Faculty/Staff members - or their family members (with a "family card")
  • Community borrower - pay a fee of $50 (limited privileges), $20 annual renewal fee
  • Alumni borrower - pay a yearly fee of $60 or maintain Alumni Membership (limited privileges)

Checkout Periods

  • Two-week checkout: general collection, CDs and most Curriculum Lab books
  • Seven-day checkout: Curriculum Lab textbooks, videos and computer software
  • In-library use only: All reference books, periodicals and two-hour reserve items, laptops
    Mac Rentals available for one week.

Checkout Limits

  • Books — Unlimited
  • CDs — 4 
  • DVDs — 2
  • Curriculum Lab Materials —2
  • Games — 2
  • Laptops — 1
  • Calculator — 1
  • Checked-out items should be returned in the book-drop or at the Circulation Desk,
  • Items NOT checked-out should be left on the carts or study tables. Please do not re-shelve items.
  • Reserve materials must be handed to a library worker, not dropped in the book-drop.
  • Any electronic items must be handed to a library worker, not dropped in the book-drop.

You may renew most checked-out items if:

  • They are not overdue
  • They are not on hold by another patron
  • Your borrowing privileges are in good standing

You can self renew under MyAccount from the catalog, or by calling Circulation at 863.667.5059

The maximum time an item can be renewed is twice.

Free Printing

  • SEU IT provides each student with $4.00 weekly printing credit.
  • Use your Fire Card to purchase additional printing.
  • Scan to email is always free.

Printouts

  • Color printouts cost 20¢ per sheet plus tax.
  • Black & white printouts cost 8¢ per sheet plus tax.

Copies

  • 8” x 11” paper: 10¢ per copy plus tax
  • Double-sided: 15¢ per copy plus tax
  • 8” x 14” paper: 10¢ per copy plus tax (Ask for this paper to be loaded for you.)
  • 11” x 17” paper: 20¢ per copy plus tax
  • 11” x 17” paper: 30¢ double-sided plus tax

Faxes

  • Local: 50¢ per page plus tax
  • Long distance: $1.00 for first page / $.50 for each additional page plus tax
  • International: $3.00 for first page / $.50 for each additional page plus tax
  • All received faxes: 25¢ per page plus tax

 

Fines will accumulate from the date a book is due until it is renewed, returned, or reported lost. 

If the amount owed is over $20 or there are more than three items overdue on an account, borrowing privileges will be suspended.

Item/Collection Type Fine
Books and Most items 20¢ per day
C-Lab, Reserves, DVD's & Bluerays 50¢ per day
Two-hour Reserves $2 per hour
2 hour Laptop loan $10 per hour
24 hour Calculator $5 per day

Lost Items

Materials not returned by the last day of the semester and items that are 30 or more days overdue will be presumed lost. Returning a “lost” item will remove the charge but not the processing charge or the transfer fee.

Replacement costs for items include the following charges:

  • $25 default processing fee for all lost items plus:
     
  • $50 default replacement fee for books
  • $30 default replacement fee for DVDs or Bluray
  • $20 default replacement fee for CDs

Any remaining fines and charges at the end of the semester will be reported to the business office and added to your bill.

Any materials returned after the transfer of records to the business office will be credited to your account, but the fees and fines will remain.

All items are due the final Wednesday of the semester.

Computers are available in the Steelman Library.

  • First come first served, or make a Computer Reservation.
  • Check out a laptop for in-library use up to 2 hours.
  • Save files to Google drive or a USB Flash Drive.
  • Computer use must comply with SEU Computer Use Policy.

The code of conduct outlined in the student handbook also applies to the Steelman Library. Library student assistants are considered officials of the university while on duty at the library. The library’s purpose is to assist in classroom and personal research, support the curriculum and meet the educational and informational needs of our users. Thus, any disruptive behavior may be addressed by library staff.

Specifically, these behaviors are not permitted in the library:

  • Violation of the Library's Food Policy & Drink Policy
  • Loud conversations, whether in person or via cell phone
  • Running
  • Excessive physical contact between members of the opposite sex
  • Noise at a level that disrupts others who are studying
  • Damage to or unauthorized use of any library property
  • Refusal to comply with clearly stated policies or directives issued by any library staff, including student assistants
  • Refusal to produce ID when requested
  • Other behaviors that are deemed disruptive by library staff
  • Failure to comply with these guidelines may result in action up to loss of all library privileges and/or referral to the Covenant Council.

Accordian Policy

Borrowing

Borrowing privileges (SEU ID Required) are extended to the following four groups:

  • Students enrolled for the current semester
  • Faculty/Staff members - or their family members (with a "family card")
  • Community borrower - pay a fee of $50 (limited privileges), $20 annual renewal fee
  • Alumni borrower - pay a yearly fee of $60 or maintain Alumni Membership (limited privileges)

Checkouts

Checkout Periods

  • Two-week checkout: general collection, CDs and most Curriculum Lab books
  • Seven-day checkout: Curriculum Lab textbooks, videos and computer software
  • In-library use only: All reference books, periodicals and two-hour reserve items, laptops
    Mac Rentals available for one week.

Checkout Limits

  • Books — Unlimited
  • CDs — 4 
  • DVDs — 2
  • Curriculum Lab Materials —2
  • Games — 2
  • Laptops — 1
  • Calculator — 1

Returning Items

  • Checked-out items should be returned in the book-drop or at the Circulation Desk,
  • Items NOT checked-out should be left on the carts or study tables. Please do not re-shelve items.
  • Reserve materials must be handed to a library worker, not dropped in the book-drop.
  • Any electronic items must be handed to a library worker, not dropped in the book-drop.

Renewing Items

You may renew most checked-out items if:

  • They are not overdue
  • They are not on hold by another patron
  • Your borrowing privileges are in good standing
  • Maximum renewal on items is 2 times
You can self renew under MyAccount from the catalog, or by calling Circulation at 863.667.5059

 

Printing

Free Printing

  • SEU IT provides each student with $4.00 weekly printing credit.
  • Use your Fire Card to purchase additional printing.
  • Scan to email is always free.

Printouts

  • Color printouts cost 20¢ per sheet plus tax.
  • Black & white printouts cost 8¢ per sheet plus tax.

Copies

  • 8” x 11” paper: 10¢ per copy plus tax
  • Double-sided: 15¢ per copy plus tax
  • 8” x 14” paper: 10¢ per copy plus tax (Ask for this paper to be loaded for you.)
  • 11” x 17” paper: 20¢ per copy plus tax
  • 11” x 17” paper: 30¢ double-sided plus tax

Faxes

  • Local: 50¢ per page plus tax
  • Long distance: $1.00 for first page / $.50 for each additional page plus tax
  • International: $3.00 for first page / $.50 for each additional page plus tax
  • All received faxes: 25¢ per page plus tax

 

Fines

Fines will accumulate from the date a book is due until it is renewed, returned, or reported lost. 

If the amount owed is over $20 or there are more than three items overdue on an account, borrowing privileges will be suspended.

Item/Collection Type Fine
Books and Most items 20¢ per day
C-Lab, Reserves, DVD's & Bluerays 50¢ per day
Two-hour Reserves $2 per hour
2 hour Laptop loan $10 per hour
24 hour Calculator $5 per day

Lost Items

Materials not returned by the last day of the semester and items that are 30 or more days overdue will be presumed lost. Returning a “lost” item will remove the charge but not the processing charge or the transfer fee.

Replacement costs for items include the following charges:

  • $25 default processing fee for all lost items plus:
     
  • $50 default replacement fee for books
  • $30 default replacement fee for DVDs or Bluray
  • $20 default replacement fee for CDs

Any remaining fines and charges at the end of the semester will be reported to the business office and added to your bill.

Any materials returned after the transfer of records to the business office will be credited to your account, but the fees and fines will remain.

All items are due the final Wednesday of the semester.

Computer Guidelines

Computers are available in the Steelman Library.

  • First come first served, or make a Computer Reservation.
  • Check out a laptop for in-library use up to 2 hours.
  • Save files to Google drive or a USB Flash Drive.
  • Computer use must comply with SEU Computer Use Policy.
You can make your Computer Reservations online.

Discipline

The code of conduct outlined in the student handbook also applies to the Steelman Library. Library student assistants are considered officials of the university while on duty at the library. The library’s purpose is to assist in classroom and personal research, support the curriculum and meet the educational and informational needs of our users. Thus, any disruptive behavior may be addressed by library staff.

Specifically, these behaviors are not permitted in the library:

  • Violation of the 
  • Loud conversations, whether in person or via cell phone
  • Running
  • Excessive physical contact between members of the opposite sex
  • Noise at a level that disrupts others who are studying
  • Damage to or unauthorized use of any library property
  • Refusal to comply with clearly stated policies or directives issued by any library staff, including student assistants
  • Refusal to produce ID when requested
  • Other behaviors that are deemed disruptive by library staff
  • Failure to comply with these guidelines may result in action up to loss of all library privileges and/or referral to the Covenant Council.

Accordian Box Template

PANEL_1_TITLE

This quad is insanely fluffy-smooth on the palate, with an even, full-body and semi-sharp carbonation edge that knocks the silky bliss down for a moment. The softness returns as a mildly sweet malt profile, with dried raisins, powdery dark chocolate, sweet cherries soaked in alcohol and a slight tartness of strawberries. Hop character coats with a leafy feel on the palate, yielding a delicate noble hop bitterness, as well as a touch of cheesiness and pithiness. This melds with spicy phenols, which lends a slight medicinal flavor that wanders within the spicy alcohol and heat. Finish is very dry, with residual yeast and crackery lingers.

PANEL_2_TITLE

Nose shows some clove and banana bread, with a soft wheat-husk background, nutty yeast, hints of citrus and a brush of floral. In the mouth, the beer is smooth on the palate, light and uplifting. The palate is piqued by crisp carbonation and a watery, lemony edge that segues into a slightly grassy wheat twang, with very soft phenolic image clover-like and thin banana flavors. Pithy floral, nutty yeast, gummy notes. Hops are non-existent, but somewhat expected for the style. Malt characters are weak, lending just a hint of residual sweetness. The finish on this brew is bone dry, with a mouthful of rough and husky tannins and yeast flavors that, unfortunately, linger long past their welcome.

PANEL_3_TITLE

Poured from a stubby 12-ounce brown bottle into a Belgian-style chalice, the beer appears a rich, semi-hazed, deep brown with ruddy hues; a creamy beige head dresses the top, with a wispy center and ringed lace. Malty aromatics make their way to the nose as soon as the bottle is cracked, full with toffee, fruit, soft spices, metallics, faint flora, earth, fresh roots, a bready yeast edge and a deep, spicy and warming alcohol. Lush feel on the palate, with creamy, smooth carbonation. Malt base is even, with the taste of dark overripe stone fruits, a distinct prune edge, and rounded juiciness, not overly sweet. Light charring in the background, some burnt sugars, a touch of orange blossom honey and some steeliness. Dry toward the finish, with a lingering alcohol warmth and spice, root and earth character, and a big yeasty smack at the very end.

PANEL_4_TITLE

Flipping the tab on the 500 ml can issues a crack and a hiss, and an immediate scent of steel, mustiness and toasted malts. We pour the beer into a nonic glass, noting its deep (but clear) brown and copper hued, topped with a short-lived white head that drops to a thin ringed lace. The aroma is a bit gummy, with some mustiness and a good dose of toasty caramel beneath, and notes of biscuits and cellared apples. Silky-smooth on the palate, with a full, even and rounded body. Up-front sugary sweetness paves the way for more complex flavors of toasted malts and toffee; and subtle notes of chocolate, roots, chicory and jam-like forest fruits. Dots of honey here and there, with some watery molasses. Hops are soft, with light floral and herbal flavors, and complement the malty sweet backbone of this beer quite nicely. Sweet and toasted bread lingers in the finish, with herbal tea notes and a touch of dry biscuit and underlying nuttiness.

PANEL_5_TITLE

This quad is insanely fluffy-smooth on the palate, with an even, full-body and semi-sharp carbonation edge that knocks the silky bliss down for a moment. The softness returns as a mildly sweet malt profile, with dried raisins, powdery dark chocolate, sweet cherries soaked in alcohol and a slight tartness of strawberries. Hop character coats with a leafy feel on the palate, yielding a delicate noble hop bitterness, as well as a touch of cheesiness and pithiness. This melds with spicy phenols, which lends a slight medicinal flavor that wanders within the spicy alcohol and heat. Finish is very dry, with residual yeast and crackery lingers.
Steelman Library, 1000 Longfellow Blvd. Lakeland, Florida 33801 · 863.667.5089