Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Steelman Library, 1000 Longfellow Blvd. Lakeland, Florida 33801 · 863.667.5089
Welcome to the Steelman Library Elementary Education guide. Use the tabs at the top to find sources and information to help you research education topics.
Databases for Education Studies
Academic Search Complete To search more specific "education" resources, within Ebsco, click "Choose Databases" located above the search box. Click the "education" check box. You might also want to check "PsychInfo" and "PsychArticles".
ERIC Education Resources Information Center (1966 - Present) - U.S. Department of Education
JSTOR Archive Database usually five years old including Scholarly, full text periodicals in the Arts and Sciences.
Professional Development Collection collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
PsycARTICLES Full text of articles in behavioral science, education, nursing, business, neuroscience.
PsycINFO Abstracts of scholarly articles and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health.
College of Education - more information
Elementary Education Websites
Association for Childhood Education International - Promotes and supports in the global community the optimal education and development of children, from birth through early adolescence, and influences the professional growth of educators and the efforts of others who are committed to the needs of children in a changing society.
Child and Family Web Guide - Five main categories of information: 1) family/parenting, 2) education/learning, 3) typical child development, 4) health/mental health, and 5) resources/recreation. By Tufts University.
U.S. Department of Education. Office of Elementary and Secondary Education - Provides useful and timely information that will enhance knowledge of elementary and secondary education programs and issues. By the DOE.