Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Distance, Online, Extension: Articles

For online and extension students.

Book Search / Library Catalog

Finding Journal Articles

Article & Journal Searching

To find articles published in periodicals (magazines, newspapers, journals, etc.), you will need to use a database.  Databases can be multi-disciplinary (EBSCO, Proquest) or subject specific (ERIC, PSYCInfo).  They can be searched in numerous ways: by author, title of the article or periodical, by keyword or subject.

HOW TO SELECT A DATABASE - Click the "Library Databases" link below. You will find descriptions of database contents printed next to the database link.

FULL-TEXT AVAILABLE OR CITATION/ABSTRACT ONLY? - If you need to be able to read the article immediately, be sure to click the "Full Text Only box near the search box.

LOCATING A KNOWN ARTICLE - If you are looking for a known article (you already have the citation from a reference book, bibliography, another article, etc.) try:

  • Use the A-to-Z Journal List link below - Search by journal title to see if a particular journal is fulltext and to be directed to that full text content
  • Search the library catalog by journal title to find out if a particular journal title (magazine, journal, newspaper, etc.) is available in print. Print periodicals are arranged alphabetically by title on the 1st floor of the library. Older issues can be found on the 2nd Floor.
  • Do a search on the web.  Although most journal articles are not available for free, sometimes you may find what you are looking for.
  • If you cannot locate the full-text in print or electronic format, you may request the item using the library's interlibrary loan service.

General Databases to Start Research

Interlibrary Loan

When you can't access an article or book, remember to request it from ILL at no cost.

Click this icon in a database, or use the Request Library Materials link below.

  • You can request books and articles not available at SEU or other local libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Articles will be emailed to you whenever possible.
  • Books will be mailed with pre-paid postage return packaging, if you are an online student. 
  • Use links from resources to make requests, or use the Interlibrary Loan Request Form.

Ask A Librarian!

Circulation

circ@seu.edu
863.667.5059

Reference
863.667.5089

Steelman Library, 1000 Longfellow Blvd. Lakeland, Florida 33801 · 863.667.5089