Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Steelman Library, 1000 Longfellow Blvd. Lakeland, Florida 33801 · 863.667.5089
Search Google Scholar
Check SEU Periodical/Magazine Holdings
When you can't access an article or book, remember to request it from ILL at no cost.
Click this icon in a database, or use the Request Library Materials link below.
- You can request books and articles not available at SEU or other local libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
- Articles will be emailed to you whenever possible.
- Books will be mailed with pre-paid postage return packaging, if you are an online student.
- Use links from resources to make requests, or use the Interlibrary Loan Request Form.
The ALAN Review
The online site of the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents
Getting Started with Journal Articles
Most of the journal articles owned by Steelman Library will be found online. Some are found in print.
- Some of the databases which are especially for English and Foreign Languages are also included on this page.
- If your teacher wants you to use a "peer-reviewed" or "scholarly" article, there is often a box on the search page which you can select to provide only this type of article. Generally, these two terms are interchangeable.
- If you only want to receive search results you can link to online, choose "full-text" as a search option.
Databases for English and Foreign Language Studies
These databases may be helpful as you research literature in English and other languages.
To find the full text of the article click on a link to the full text. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Library's print collection.
Articles from journals not available at SEU may be requested through interlibrary loan.
Academic Search Complete Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text databases accessed in one search.
JSTOR Archive Database usually five years old including Scholarly, full text periodicals in the Arts and Sciences.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text The primary periodical index for English and language studies: find books and articles on languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
Amy Beatty- Southeastern University
, Distance/Online Students
, En Español
, English & Languages
, Film & Media
, Foreign Language Studies
, Hispanic Studies
, Women Studies