Skip to main content

American Literature: Articles

Getting Started with Journals--English & Languages

Most of the journal articles owned by Steelman Library can be found online.  Some are found in print.

  • Some of the databases which are especially for English and Foreign Languages are included on this page.
  • If your professor wants you to use a "peer-reviewed" or "scholarly" article, there is often a box on the search page in the database which you can select to retrieve only this type of article.  Generally, these two terms are interchangeable.
  • If you only want to retrieve search results that will give you the entire book or article, choose "full-text" as a search option.

Databases for English and Foreign Language Studies

These databases may be helpful as you research literature in English and other languages. 

To find the full text of the article click on a link to the full text.  Many journals are available online, but some are in the Library's print collection.  

Articles from journals not available at SEU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

Interlibrary Loan

When you can't access an article or book, remember to request it from ILL at no cost.

Click this icon in a database, or use the Request Library Materials link below.

  • You can request books and articles not available at SEU or other local libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Articles will be emailed to you whenever possible.
  • Books will be mailed with pre-paid postage return packaging, if you are an online student. 
  • Use links from resources to make requests, or use the Interlibrary Loan Request Form.
Steelman Library, 1000 Longfellow Blvd. Lakeland, Florida 33801 · 863.667.5089