Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Persistent Links: FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

Linking to Library Articles - Persistent Links Information

Quick Links
Article Link Generator
Converts persistent links to enable access outside the campus network
(SEU username & password required)
List of Databases that provide persistent URLs
Instructions on how to find ready-made persistent links in specific databases.

 

Step-by-Step: How to create links to articles in SEU databases

1. Make sure there is a stable or persistent URL for the article you have found. Check the List of databases that provide persistent URLs for the database that contains your article. If your database is included in the list, you may copy and share the persistent link provided in the article record. 

2. Determine whether the persistent link you found will work from outside the SEU network (off-campus). A simple way to determine if the link will work, check for the term “idm.oclc” in the URL. Does the URL or link that you found have the word "idm.oclc" somewhere in it?

If yes, the link will work outside the campus network and is ready to be copied, saved or shared.

If no, the link will need to be put into the Article Link Generator before you save or share it. Instructions are below:

  • Copy the URL from the database.
  • Paste the URL into the top box of the Article Link Generator
  • Click "Convert URL". The new URL will appear in the bottom box
  • Click on "Copy Durable URL"

3. The converted URL now is your persistent link and can be copied, saved, or shared for later use.

 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

1. Why can't I just copy the address from the address bar to save a link to an article?
Web addresses, or URLs (Uniform Resource Locator) that appear in the address bar of your web browser may contain session-based or search-based information that causes the URL to not work later. This is especially true of the URLs that appear when searching a database. This is why many online databases provide a separate perisistent or stable link in each record for an article.

 

2. What is a persistent Link?
A persistent link is a URL that will remain stable over time and allows a user to access the linked document later.

 

3. How do I find persistent links in online databases?
Some research databases include a persistent or durable link in the article record. Please note that the terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another. View the List of Databases that provide persistent URLs for detailed information on how to locate persistent links. 

 

4. How do I know if a persistent link will work from outside the SEU campus network?
In order for a link to an article to work from outside the SEU campus network, it must contain special coding that will allow SEU users to access the article using their SEU username and password. Follow these steps to determine if your persistent link will work off campus.

Does the URL or link that you found have the word “idm.oclc” somewhere in it?
If yes, the link is ready to be saved or shared.
If no, the link will need to be put into the Article Link Generator before you save or share it.

5. What is the Article Link Generator?
The Article Link Generator is a tool that will add coding to a persistent link found in a database that will allow it to be used from outside the SEU campus network if it is not already embedded in the URL.

Putting a URL through the Article Link Generator will not allow non-SEU affiliates to access online library-licensed resources. Only SEU students, staff, and faculty with valid accounts have remote access to library-licensed electronic resources.

6. How do I use the Article Link Generator?

  • Copy the durable link from a database and paste it into the top box of the Article Link Generator.

  • Click "Convert URL." The resultant URL should appear in the bottom box.

  • To copy the new durable link, use the “Copy Durable URL” button on the Link Generator (for best results, do not highlight the URL and copy it to your document).

    Tip: Look at the newly generated URL. Does it have two “idm.oclc” phrases in it? If so, the URL will not work. To correct the link, one of the complete duplicate segments (e.g. “idm.oclc”) must be removed.

7. How can I use a persistent link?
Once you have found a stable URL and put it through the Article Link Generator (if necessary) , you can paste the URL into MyFire or other documents.

  • Tip: Avoid saving URLs in Microsoft Word documents. Word often adds extra code that can render the URL useless. This is especially true when you copy a URL from Word into a web interface like MyFire. Always try to copy and paste the URL from the Article Link Generator directly into the destination document.

8. How do I make persistent links to e-books?
You can use the Permalink feature in the SEU Library Catalog to create permanent links to e-books.

  • Find the e-book in the catalog by searching by title or keyword.
  • Click on the book title.  Click on the link "Bibliographic Record Display . . ." This opens the PDF.
  • Click on "Permalink" in the bar on the right side of the screen.
  • Copy the URL from the Permalink box that appears above at the top of the screen. (This is the persistent link to the item)
Steelman Library, 1000 Longfellow Blvd. Lakeland, Florida 33801 · 863.667.5089